香港領導及提倡親子共讀的機構

請從速登記,可以免費索取圖書導讀,及收取本會的最新活動資訊!

由領導香港閱讀文化推廣的非牟利機構攜手合作 以「與作家會面」活動消除文化障礙

領導及提倡親子共讀的書伴我行(香港)基金會(書伴我行)很高興將會與香港國際文學節攜手合辦青少年讀者節2021(青少年讀者節)的「與中文作家會面」活動。

 

BMAB x HKYRF

消除文化障礙

由2021年4月19日至30日起,學校可參與一系列高水準的網上「與作家會面」活動,更是首次以雙語(中文及英文)來舉辦。是次活動由領導香港閱讀文化推廣的兩個非牟利機構共同合作,為本地學校學生和國際學校學生消除文化障礙,並讓他們有機會接觸到世界一流的作家。

 

香港國際文學節總監Catherine Platt說:「 為了慶祝在四月份時的青少年讀者節十週年紀念,我們將會為大家帶來更盛大、更靈活的中文及英文活動。 我們很高興能與書伴我行合作,迎來更多中文作家及其相關活動,讓本地學校學生更容易參與。」

 

知名作家包括來自中國的戴芸──以新冠病毒作為創作靈感,寫下點擊率超過十億的圖畫書《這個春節不溜達》。在這個充滿挑戰的期間,此書為很多小讀者及其家人帶來了安慰及力量。 另外,還有來自南京的余麗瓊──豐子愷兒童圖畫書獎首獎作品《團圓》 的作家。 此著名的故事是講述一位小女孩毛毛和她每年只能夠在春節期間見一面的民工父親,二人之間的溫馨故事。

 

Untitled design (13)

 

書伴我行(香港)基金會執行總監黃秋山女士說:「 學校在過去的一年停課,令同學們面對着各種的混亂及挑戰。書伴我行很高興能夠與青少年讀者節合作,很期待我們的「與中文作家會面」活動能夠打破文化障礙, 為同學們帶來更多閱讀樂趣和創作靈感。」

 

 齊來與本地作家會面

本地作家方面,青少年讀者節及書伴我行誠意介紹香港得獎作家及插畫家張韻珊。她的新書《啵啵啵啵!我是魔法王》以探討毅力和積極性為主題,此書更於2021年3月入圍第五十五屆意大利波隆納世界插畫展。另一位介紹的是在兒童文學界中嶄露頭角的新晉本地作家Rachel Ip。她的作品《The Last Garden》是由Anneli Bray所繪畫,一個關於戰爭、和平及希望的動人故事。Rachel於2020年10月在香港中央圖書館分享此書時,撼動了很多家庭的心。Rachel的另一作品《The Forgettery》由Laura Hughes 所繪畫,是一部關於創造及珍藏回憶的神奇冒險故事,此書將於2021年4月推出市面。

Untitled design (12)

激發對閱讀的喜愛

自2016年起,書伴我行已為本地學校及公共圖書館帶來了超過30位來自英國、美國、中國及台灣的作家及插畫家。由美國銀行贊助,書伴我行已經成功為超過100所本地學校及社區中心舉辦多場「與作家會面」活動, 超過三萬名兒童參與。研究表明,與作家、插畫家、文學專家及故事人見面,並聽聽他們對作品的熱愛,能夠從根本上改變孩子與書籍的關係,及激發孩子終生喜愛閱讀。

黃秋山女士補充說:「通過把他們的故事帶入生活,與作家會面活動往往能鼓勵從前不願意閱讀的小讀者拿起書籍,同時也能啟發教育工作者對書籍主題進行更有創意的思考。我們的調查顯示,81%的學生認為我們的「與作家會面」活動「有趣」及「令人愉快的」; 70%的學生表示此活動有助激發他們閱讀更多的書籍;75%的學生希望將來可以參加更多類似的活動。

 按此下載青少年讀者節2021的學校活動資料包;

按此下載由書伴我行(香港)基金會提供的「與中文作家會面」資料包。


 

了解本會其他計劃︰

  • 學校和家庭:成為書伴我行會員 。只需年費$1100,就可得到會員獨享福利,包括可以在本會圖書館借閱圖書。 
  • 學校︰參加本會的學校項目,攜手與書伴我行邀請作家到訪、獲取慶祝世界閱讀日的訊息包、舉辦家長工作坊、專業培訓講座和學生故事活動。 
  • 9歲或以上學生:參加本會全新的「小小讀書人」計劃。成為學生義工的一份子,閱讀並選出書籍指南內最喜歡的書籍,幫我們確保書目符合小朋友的需要和興趣。

 


關於書伴我行(香港)基金會︰

書伴我行是一間獲獎的非牟利機構,致力向小朋友推廣閱讀,提供容易接觸優質書籍的途徑,增強家庭和社區關係,以及鼓勵小朋友更熱愛學習。

我們以實證研究為基礎,提供:

–  改革性的家長及老師培訓

–  優質中、英文兒童書籍

–  與作家及專家接觸的高質素活動

自2006年成立以來,我們已經設置超過450個圖書館,服務了180,000位來自低收入家庭的小朋友。我們的得獎「兒童啟蒙老師訓練」,專為家長和老師而設,已經獲證實有效增加參加者挑選書籍和進行親子共讀的能力和信心。

香港的需要:

  • 根據一項國際研究結果顯示,香港是全球在家庭閱讀方面得分最低的城市,當中只有12%的家長會與子女進行學前閱讀活動,少於國際標準 (37%) 的三份之一。
  • 在參與研究的四十三個地區當中,雖然香港小四學生在閱讀能力方面得分最高,但在閱讀興趣 (21% 對比國際水平28%)、閱讀信心 (20% 對比國際水平36% ) 及閱讀動機 (52% 對比國際水平74% ) 方面,卻得分最低。
  • 調查顯示,容易接觸到優質書籍,是讓閱讀得以成功的基本要素;而為孩子朗讀,是他們在學業上得以成功的關鍵元素。

 

關於豐子愷兒童圖畫書奬 :

FZK logo
書伴我行(香港)基金會與姊妹機構豐子愷兒童圖畫書奬(書奬)一直緊密合作,鼓勵公眾創作及閱讀高質原創華文圖畫書。每兩年舉辦一次的書奬及華文圖畫書論壇,是由陳一心家族基金會成員陳范儷瀞女士,及書伴我行創辦人陳禹嘉先生和陳李淑慧女士共同設立。 結合書伴我行及書獎的閱讀文化推廣網絡及專業知識, 藉以推動優質兒童文學及親子共讀文化,同時更在社區設置兒童圖書館,讓香港的兒童能夠從喜愛閱讀作為起點,以成就人生。https://fengzikaibookaward.org/hk/

 

關於香港國際青少年讀者節:

tlogo_YRF_BI

香港國際青少年讀者節是一個為期12天的活動,活動地點包括香港各中、小學及一些公共場所。活動邀請一眾有活力的本地和國際作家、插畫家、漫畫家和詩人參與,他們致力推動藝術,為兒童及青年帶來鼓舞人心的故事。香港國際青少年讀者節是香港國際文學節的重點活動; 香港國際文學節是一個世界級的組織,發展迅速。

香港國際青少年讀者節已舉辦了九年,我們與超過三千間香港中小學合作,希望推動和鼓勵青少年投入文字世界。持續閱讀有利兒童提升英語水平和掌握更多詞彙,帶動文化交流,讓青少年認識不同的議題,包括現正發生的社會事件。

我們是一所牟利的慈善機構,致力在香港推動文學藝術。請瀏覽www.festival.org.hk,以獲取更多資訊。

The leading advocate for family literacy in Hong Kong

Sign up now to receive your free book guide, and receive updates on our upcoming events!

Partnership Between Two Leading Literacy Charities Bridges Cultural Barriers Through Author Visits

Bring Me a Book Hong Kong (BMABHK), the leading advocate for family literacy is pleased to partner with the Hong Kong International Literary Festival (HKILF)  for the 2021 Young Readers Festival (YRF) Chinese Programme.

 

BMAB x HKYRF

Bridging cultural barriers

The comprehensive line-up of high-caliber author events, available to schools online, from 19-30 April 2021, will, for the first time, be available in both Chinese and English. The partnership between two of Hong Kong’s leading literacy charities, bridges cultural barriers and unlocks exciting new opportunities for both local and international students in Hong Kong to access some of the world’s greatest storytellers.

To celebrate ten years of the Young Readers Festival in April we are offering an expanded, flexible programme of events in English and Chinese. We are delighted to launch a new partnership with Bring Me a Book Hong Kong, which will make the programme more accessible to local students by including more Chinese language authors and events,” Catherine Platt, Executive Director, the Hong Kong International Literary Festival.

 

Highlights include Chinese author Dai Yun, whose Covid-19 inspired fairytale, “Do Not Scroll Around During Chinese New Year”, received more than one billion views to bring comfort and strength to a large number of little readers and their families during these challenging times. Nanjing native, Yu Li-Qiong is the Feng Zikai Chinese Children’s Picture Book award-winning author of ”A New Year’s Reunion”. Recognized globally for her heart-warming tale of a little girl, Mao Mao, and her relationship with her father, a migrant worker whom she sees once a year, during Chinese New Year.

Untitled design (13)

“With all the disruption and challenges our students have faced due to school closures this past year, Bring Me a Book is so thrilled to be able to partner with the Young Readers Festival. We are excited to bridge cultural barriers with our Chinese author programme to bring joy and inspiration to more students, on their reading and writing journeys” said Pia Wong, Executive Director, Bring Me A Book Hong Kong.

Celebrating local authors

The YRF and BMABHK are also delighted to introduce students to Hong Kong’s award-winning author and illustrator Shana Cheung. Her new book, “Bub Bub Bub Bub! My Granny” explore themes of perseverance and motivation and has been shortlisted for the 55th Bologna Children’s Book Fair’s Illustrations Exhibition in March 2021.

Another new and rising local talent in the world of children’s literature, is Rachel Ip. Her thoughtful story of war, peace and hope, “The Last Garden”, illustrated by Anneli Bray, captured the hearts of many Hong Kong families when the book was launched at the Hong Kong Central Library in October 2020. Rachel’s book, “The Forgettery”, illustrated by Laura Hughes, is a magical adventure about making and treasuring memories and will be released in April 2021.

Untitled design (12)

Igniting a love of reading

Since 2016, Bring Me a Book has brought 30 authors and illustrators to schools and public libraries in Hong Kong from the UK, US, China and Taiwan. Sponsored by Bank of America, BMABHK’s “Meet-the-Author” Program has enabled the innovative charity to deliver author talks to more than 100 local schools and community centers, inspiring over 30,000 children. The research has shown that meeting an author, illustrator, literacy expert, storyteller in real life and hearing them convey their passion for their work can fundamentally alter a child’s relationship to books and ignite a life-long love of reading.

 

“By bringing their stories to life, author visits often motivate previously reluctant readers to pick up a book while also inspiring educators to think about the subject matter more creatively. Feedback from our surveys show that 81% of students found our author visits “interesting” and “enjoyable”, while 70% say it helps motivate them to read more books with 75% asking if they could attend more events like this in the future”, added Pia Wong.

 

 Download the 2021 Young Readers Festival Schools Program Pack here

and YRF Chinese Programme, presented by Bring Me a Book Hong Kong here


 


LEARN MORE ABOUT OUR OTHER BMABHK READING PROGRAMS
:

  • For schools: Join BMABHK’s School Program that include author visits, toolkits for schools to celebrate World Book Day and parent workshops, professional development talks and storytelling for students
  • For families: Join our BMABHK Membership. For an annual fee of HK$1100, gain exclusive access to membership benefits, including the ability to borrow from our extensive BMABHK library.
  • For students aged 9 and up: Join our NEW Junior Staff Readers Program. Be a part of an engaged volunteer student group who helps us to continue making our book selections robust by reading through and selecting their favorite book titles from our recommended range.

 


ABOUT BRING ME A BOOK HONG KONG:

Established in 2006 by James and Su Chen from The Chen Yet-Sen Foundation, Bring Me a Book™ Hong Kong is the international arm of The Bring Me a Book Foundation – founded by Judy Koch in Palo Alto in 1997 – which sprang from a small lending library in her home garage that Judy created for her employees and their families at RSP Manufacturing.

 

Bring Me a Book Hong Kong™ (BMABHK) is an award-winning non-profit literacy organization in Hong Kong with a mission to promote reading to our children, provide access to books, strengthen family and community bonds, and encourage a love of learning. We use evidence-based research to provide:

  • Transformational trainings for parents and educators
  • Hand selected and recommended Chinese and English children’s books
  • Quality programs to access authors and literacy experts

Since inception in 2006, BMABHK has installed over 450 libraries, served 180,000 children from low-income communities through our library programs. Our First Teachers Training, for parents and educators, is an award-winning program that has proven to significantly increase ability and confidence in selecting and reading aloud books amongst families.

The Need in Hong Kong:

  • According to a global research study, Hong Kong has the lowest rate of family literacy in the world with only 12% of parents engaging in pre-school literacy activities, less than a third of the international average of 37%.
  • While Primary 4 children in Hong Kong scored highest in reading achievement, the same children also scored LOWEST (out of 43 countries surveyed) in interest to read (21% vs international average 28%), confidence to read (20% vs international average 36%) and motivation to read (52% vs international average 74%).
  • Research shows that access to quality books is fundamental to reading success and that reading aloud to children is critical for school success.

About Feng Zikai Chinese Children’s Picture Book Award:

FZK logo
Bring Me a Book Hong Kong works in close collaboration with our sister organization, Feng Zikai Chinese Children’s Picture Book Award, to encourage original and high-quality Chinese children’s picture books. The Biennial Award and Forum was established by The Chen Yet-Sen Family Foundation, with family members Daisy Chen and the founders of BMABHK – James and Su Chen. Together, we bring the power of our networks and expertise in literacy to promote quality children’s literature and parent-child reading, as well as establishing children’s libraries, to ensure the children of Hong Kong have the best start in life through a love of reading. https://fengzikaibookaward.org/en/

 

About Hong Kong Young Readers Festival:

tlogo_YRF_BI

The Hong Kong Young Readers Festival is a 12-day event that takes place in schools and public spaces around Hong Kong. Bringing together a diverse and dynamic group of local and international writers, illustrators, comic creators, and poets dedicated to the art of telling inspirational stories to kids and young adults, the Festival is a vibrant arm of the fast-growing and world-class Hong Kong International Literary Festival.

Since the YRF’s inception nine years ago, we have worked with over 30,000 primary and secondary school students in Hong Kong. We want to motivate and inspire young people to engage with all aspects of the written word. Sustained reading not only offers children the opportunity to improve their English language skills and vocabulary, it provides a crucial gateway to cultural exchange and exposes young people to diverse topics and current affairs.

We are a not-for-profit, charitable organization dedicated to bringing the best in the literary arts to Hong Kong. For more information, please visit the LitFest website at www.festival.org.hk